3 Ways to A Productive Day

I was losing my sense of time. I had busier days than I should. This was because my days were spent on the phone, on the Internet (usually Facebook and other social networks) and I used the word “busy” a lot but I didn’t feel as though I was accomplishing my goals.

This was mainly because I was a stay-at-home mom and had plenty to do. But even then most of the chores around the house were done by my lovely husband . So why were my days going by so fast and at the end of the day I was left feeling like I wasted most of my days?

It was because I would set myself up for failure. I would take on several tasks at once. I would plan for things that I could not get to and had no idea what my priorities were.

After I started working, going to school, and being a mom I knew I had to change my ways and use my time efficiently. So for those of you who have been asking me how I do it this is how:

1. Find Out How You Spend Your Time

I had to sit down and evaluate how I spend my days. My husband loves to socialize so we were wasting so much time a week at different people’s houses to the point where I even missed my home. There is nothing wrong with spending time with your friends but everything should have a limit.

I was a TV junky. I would watch different TV shows, news, and as much as I hate to admit it, I even started watching reality shows and that took up a lot of my time. So I made sure I was honest with myself.  I tracked my daily routine and crossed out the things I should not spend time on.

Take your time and think about what you do during the day. Although we all have daily routines that are a waste of time we seldom admit it. So take charge of your time. Value your time and don’t waste it.

2. Write Down Your Goals

Writing down your goals makes them more defined. It makes you ready to take on your steps to achieve those goals. I used to write down 10 or more things to do in one day. The problem with that was that I felt overwhelmed. I started two or more tasks at the same time and wouldn’t give each the attention it needs.

So when you write down your goals for the day, make the list it realistic and make it clear. Anything that is not meant to be done on that day should go on your to-do list for the week or month or year. It easier to have short-term goals as well as long-term ones.

So write down your goals and refer back to them when you feel lost.

3. Learn to Prioritize

The main problem I had was not knowing what my priorities were. When I realized I was living life with no clear-cut goal I had to also find out what my priorities were. Therefore, from time to time we all need to evaluate ourselves and redefine our priorities. This will ensure that we are on the right track and will also make our lives easier.

For me, I found I was just spending my days doing things as they came. If a friend invited me somewhere, I would just get up and go. If I felt like I should go out and shop I would just go out and shop, I would just got out and shop. There is nothing wrong with being spontaneous, but by not planning my days well I was leaving all the important things I had to do behind and they kept on piling up.

Share your thoughts: Have you ever felt like the days are going by so fast without you achieving your goals? Which one of the steps above have you used before? Do you have any other tips to share on how to be more productive?

 

Leave a comment